top of page

An award, a legacy

Wendell Campbell, FAIA, right, receives the 1976 Whitney Young Award at the AIA National Convention. (AIA Archives)

Young's call to action continues, shaping the profession for five decades

Since 1972, the Whitney M. Young Jr. Award has distinguished an architect or organization that embodies social responsibility and actively addresses a relevant issue, such as affordable housing, inclusiveness, or universal access.

This social engagement isn’t restricted to architecture—it can be expressed in any area of the nominee’s life or work.

AIA chapters and Knowledge Communities, as well as members of the national AIA Board of Directors and the Strategic Council, may submit nominations.


Living recipients of the Whitney Young Award are automatically elevated to Fellowship, Honorary Membership, or Honorary Fellowship in the institute, as eligible.

Whitney Young Award List

The Whitney M. Young Jr. Award

Recipients, 1972 to today

bottom of page